About Foundation

  • John Muir Foundation


    Our Mission
    The John Muir Elementary Foundation, in collaboration with the community and the school district, supports a quality education designed to enrich, expand, and maintain programs exploring Music, Art, Science, and Technology. This will provide the opportunity for all students to learn and grow and to become responsible and productive citizens. 

    Who We Are

    • A 501 (c) (3) nonprofit tax-exempt philanthropic organization

    • An independent registered community based corporation incorporated on April 20, 2015

      Our Purpose

    • To benefit our students and staff by supporting activities not funded by tax dollars

    • To foster creative approaches to education through innovative grants and student scholarships.

    • To increase private support for educational activities at John Muir Elementary School

    • To increase parent involvement at school

      Our Results

    • Since 2015, we’ve raised over $30,000 to support our school

    • Provided Chromebooks for classrooms

    • Launched music class as part of curriculum for all 1st – 3nd grade students

    • 2018 Added recorder courses to our 3rd grade music curriculum

    • 2019 Subsidized an after-school robotics program for K-6 students

    • Moved our music program to an online platform during the 2020-21 pandemic school year

      Our Fundraising Goals

    • Continue to fund music classes, including K to 3rd grade

    • Incorporate and build on enrichment programs such as art classes, robotics, STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Math) and more

    • Seek grants to award to teachers and students

    • Raise awareness within the community of the mission of the John Muir Elementary Foundation to benefit the students and teachers of John Muir Elementary


         Our Board 2022-2023
         President- Sonal Patel
         Vice-President- Apri Fulton
         Treasurer- Willow Voytko
         Assistant Treasurer - Elizabeth Todd
         Secretary- AnjaLi Carrasco
         Dining Fundraising Coordinator- Helen Lynn
         Garden Coordinator- Willow Voytko
         Social Media Chair- Deborah Hurtado
         Teacher Liaison- Taleen Petrossian