About Foundation

  • John Muir Founation



    Our Mission

    The John Muir Elementary Foundation, in collaboration with the community and the school district, will support a quality education to enrich, maintain, and expand programs to meet the District's mission of offering additional programs. This will provide the opportunity to all students to gain the ability to learn and to become responsible and productive citizens.


    Who we are

    • A 501 (c) (3) nonprofit tax-exempt philanthropic organization
    • An independent registered community based corporation incorporated on April 20, 2015

    Our Dedication

    • To benefit our students and staff by supporting activities not funded by tax dollars
    • To foster creative approaches to education through campus grants, innovative teaching grants and student scholarships.
    • To increase private support for educational activities at John Muir Elementary School

    Our Results

    • 2015 Raised a total of $12,000
    • 2015 Provided school with Chrome books for classrooms
    • 2016 Raised a total of $8,500
    • 2016 Launched Music class as part of curriculum for all 1st – 2nd grade students
    • 2017 (Though June) Raised a total of $8,100
    • 2017 Expanded Music Program to 1st – 3rd grades

    Our Fundraising Goals

    • Continue to fund the Music classes and include K to 3rd grade
    • Increase our endowment program
    • Additional school programs: Art classes, Robotics, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) and more
    • Receive Grants to award to campus, teachers and students
    • Continue to raise awareness within the community of the mission of the John Muir Education Foundation in order to benefit the students and teachers of John Muir Elementary Foundation


    Our Board

    President                   Monica Menendez

    Vice-President            Cindy Dardon

    Treasure                    Deborah Hurtado

    Secretary                   Helen Lynn

    Social Media               Sonal Patel            

    Teacher Liaison          Mrs. Petrossians

    Grant Writer              Open

    Carnival Chairs          Joanie Borton/Ron Cuellar